The City Council

The city’s highest decision-making power is exercised by the City Council, which includes 59 delegates. Members of the City Council are elected in municipal elections every four years.  
The City Council usually meets once a month on Mondays starting  from 6 p.m. at the Chamber of the City Hall (address Hallituskatu 12). Meetings of the council are public and they are announced on the city electronic bulletin board (in Finnish). It is possible to follow the council meetings on the spot or via the city’s official Youtube-channel.

The precidency of the council

The Chairwoman of the Council
Mari Kaunistola
National Coalition Party 

I Vice Chairman of the Council
Jyrki Levonen
Social Democratic Party  

II Vice Chairman of the Council 
Petri Huru
Finns Party

III Vice Chairwoman of the Council
Raisa Ranta
Left Alliance

The members of the City Council

The members of the council according to the council groups: